top of page

5 Reasons I Created a Blog

Hey y'all - welcome to Friday's post!


Lately I have had a lot of people message me on Instagram asking why I started a blog, how to start one, or if I get paid or not. I wanted to answer some of your questions in this post today.


So, here is a little background info: I have always been a writer at heart. When I created a project in the fourth grade, I was asked what I wanted to be when I grew up and I said a journalist. Luckily I accomplished this goal during my Junior year of high school when I earned a summer internship at the Town and Country Newspaper.

1. I am a Writer

I love to write; always have, always will. I love to be creative and express my thoughts/feelings. I find it that when I speak, my social anxiety hinders my capability to sound fluent or form complete thoughts. I am an intelligent young woman and my ability to write has been a successful outlet for me to portray my inner "boss babe".


Creating a blog was never for the money, not that I make money from it currently, but a lot of bloggers do. I originally started my blog to write consistently in a personal and informal tone, unlike when I write news articles, I have the freedom to write in whatever manner I choose! It is quite liberating to be able to write for myself and still be successful on a public scale.


My advice is, do not start a blog if you hate writing all the time (lol)

2. Future Business Opportunities

Maintaining a blog shows character and determination. Creating a blog was also about having an online writing presence that I could showcase to potential future job opportunities in my career field. Being a communications student means little to nothing if you can't provide examples of your work ethic and capabilities with tangible pieces.


I truly have so many published articles in print newspaper, but in today's environment, I wanted to create a online portfolio to show that I am capable to doing both forms of media text. So yes, my blog is personal and professional at the same time.

3. Connect with Other Boss Babes

Having a blog can be difficult when you're on your own tackling the "do's and don't's" of the communications world. Having people who are close to you and share similar goals/aspirations is a major help to this issue. Networking with fellow bloggers and building an audience with them is so convenient too.


Not only is great in the professional sense, but on a personal level, I wish some of these girls didn't live so far away from me in reality! You can make great connections that can turn into internet friendships, which is actually something I never expected from this journey.

4. It Felt Right

When I first discovered what blogging was in my high school journalism class (Shoutout to Q), I really fell in love with designing my blog and creating blog topics. Again, as a writer, it felt right to take this leap. I had already achieved my childhood goal of becoming a journalist at age 16 and wanted something else to get excited about again.


Starting this blog has also given me confidence that was hidden for a long time. Not sure how to describe this feeling, but I feel content and happy.


5. To Have Fun

Really, having a blog has been so much fun. Because I use my Instagram account as a major platform for my blog, I have unleashed a whole new level of creativity (as you can tell by my recent posts). I just find this whole process to be a blast.


I am getting opportunities with businesses to collab and do advertisements; it's a path in my career that I am so happy occured. I just can't wait for the future.


Subscriber Giveaway: Don't forget to subscribe below for a chance to win a $10 Dunkin' Donuts giftcard from me! Giveaway closes this Sunday at 11:59 P.M. Anyone who subscribes before this deadline will be entered to randomly win the giftcard. (Maybe we can even get coffee together if you win!)


Until Monday,

Abigail

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page