top of page

It's All About Self-Love, Baby

Good morning y'all - what are you doing on this rainy Friday?


Today marks my last day of regular classes before finals and after my 9 A.M. I plan on going to Dunkin for some iced coffee and shop at the outlets before my afternoon class.


I want to treat myself for making it this far with great grades before I finish some final projects and rock my final exams next week.


When I posted on my story about what topic to discuss in today's post, I had an overwhelming amount of people vote for me to talk about self-love.


Before I dive into it, I want to be very blunt and honest, self-love is a long and trying process.


However, if you were to compare me to the girl I was in high school, my self-love journey has blossomed and began to bud as the girl I am today.


Self-love isn't the concept that you are THE best at everything. That you are THE most beautiful person in the world or that your needs come before anyone elses', always.


Though self-love can manifest in one of those forms, it's not about being egotistical. Self-love is the ability to recognize what makes you, YOU.


Ask yourself:

  • What makes you happy? Sad? Mad? Confused?

  • What qualities make you different from others?

  • What about you makes you beautiful?

  • What are your favorite internal qualities?

  • What are your favorite external qualities?

Now, recognize the things you don't enjoy about your personality. Recognize these bad traits and own them. Don't run away from your bad qualities. No one is perfect. You are not meant to be perfect.


Self-love is about embracing your good and bad aspects of what makes you, you.


The key is to be able to accept these bad qualities, instead of them running amuck like being mean and just saying "oh, it's who I am", work on it. Improve yourself. Why are you like that? get to the bottom of it and work on yourself.


And there will be days where it is harder than others to accept this. And that's okay. It's an up and down journey.


If you were to ask me in high school if I thought I was beautiful, I would have laughed. When Dustin first asked me out, I was shocked. There were so many other pretty girls in school and he picked me? Must have been a joke.


Ask me if I am beautiful now? Yeah, I really am and I have always been. I just wasn't mature enough to look at myself and accept me for who I am. Flash forward four years and Dustin still thinks I am as beautiful as I was then.


The root of all evil when it comes to self-love is comparison. I still do it, sometimes on a daily basis, but it's all about checking yourself.


Remind yourself about what makes you different from them, but in the good qualities.


My name is Abigail Clifford.
Sometimes I can be way too sensitive and down-right a moody bitch. I think I have a bad smile and an awkward body shape with a tummy issue.
My name is Abigail Clifford.
I am kind, bubbly, out-going, and empathetic. I have beautiful eyes and a wonderful sense of creativity/drive.
My name is Abigail Clifford and I am on the journey to self-love.
Will you join me?

In the terms of Taylor Swift's brand new song "ME!", remember, "I'm the only one of me" and you better own that shit.


Until Monday,

Abigail

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page