top of page

Chat Over Coffee: 20 Things I've Learned in 20 Years

Hey guys, how was your weekend?


Here in Pennsylvania, it was 100+ degrees the past couple of days, so I tried camping out inside with air conditioning as much as I could!


This "Chat Over Coffee" post will be a little different than usual. Don't worry, I am still drinking coffee, but this morning I opted for homemade hot coffee (I ran out of time to go to Dunkin'!)

What are you drinking this morning? Whatever it is, I hope it's strong.


Over sixty people voted for me to do one of those "20 Things I've Learned in 20 Years" posts so here we are. Let's get into it:There is no specific order and I am writing truly from the heart.


1. Talk it Out

Letting emotions boil and simmer out is fine after a heated argument, but never let feelings get buried. They will also rehash and cause later issues. Address everything now before it's too late.

2. Dancing isn't Lame

Dancing is probably one of the best ways to let loose and have fun. One day you're gonna regret not having fun at prom, a club, or some wedding simply because you were worried someone would laugh. Just dance.

3. Pictures Are Key to Memories

I don't care if you're going to yell at me by saying to "enjoy the moment". I am, simply taking a picture or two allows me to bring this memory back up in later days. I have memories from my childhood that I can only remember after seeing a quick picture. I want that feeling when I am old.

4. Be Proud of Your Work

You put so much time and effort into your work. Be proud of every little detail and do not let anyone belittle you if they don't agree with what you consider a success.

5. One Cookie Won't Hurt You

Just eat the cookie. Calories can always be removed later in the day, enjoy it.

6. It's OK to Have a Bad Day

Bad days are inevitable. It's OK to recognize that you're not having a good day. You are allowed to wallow in it, but not for long. Try to look at the bright side.

7. You're Not Weak or Lame for Sticking to Your Values

My value: I do not like to drink alcohol. People will disagree and harass you to participate. But they don't have to live with your actions at the end of the day, you do. Do what you want and people can hop off if they think it's stupid.

8. Pain is Temporary

Last fall, I thought the hole in my throat would be on fire for the rest of my life. Pain, physically and emotionally, will ease away with time. Hang in there.

9. Shopping is Therapeutic

Shopping is addicting, but healing. There I said it.

10. But, Saving Money IS SO IMPORTANT

You never know what's going to happen with your car, health, etc. Having money put aside is SO important for future circumstances. I am still learning this aspect.

11. You're Suppose to Change

If you have the same maturity and intellectual abilities as freshman year of high school, I'd be worried if I were you.

12. Creativity Isn't at your Calling Command

This is a flowing energy force. It comes to you when it wants. Don't force it.

13. A "B" As Your Final Grade Doesn't Mean the World is Ending

Anything below a 95% will not mean an earthquake will come and disrupt your entire life. You can and will bounce back. You are also not a failure.

14. Life isn't Fair

You will get things thrown at you that you'll won't understand. Just know life isn't fair; don't waste your time comparing your circumstances to others. It's not worth it.

15. Shopping in the Clearance Section is the Move

There is no shame in being a strict clearance shopper, your wallet will thank you.

16. Young Love is Worth Fighting For

Do not let others think your silly for staying hopeful in a long-term relationship from your youth. They are just trying to take their experience of failed relationships out on you.

17. Memes are Also Therapeutic

Take time to laugh over silly things like memes, it can bring people together.

18. You Don't Need to Make Your Life Fit into Someone Else's Agenda

Never conform to fit someone's expected train of events for YOUR life. You do things the way you feel is right on this journey. (No, I don't mean it's ok to stay home all day and play video games instead of working, you know what I mean!)

19. Crying is not Shameful

Crying is sooooooooo healing, it released everything pent up inside. Empathy and crying is not a sign of weakness, it' a sign of strength.

20. Coffee Brings People Together

Coffee heals, it's an element that I know a lot of people plan and look forward to doing with others. Let coffee bring you to loved ones and to new friends.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page