top of page

8 Quarantine Friendly Activities When Bored

Yesterday marked 3 weeks of being quarantined in my family home. Am I bored? Yes, from time to time.


However, it's not as bad as I anticipated. Luckily I am in a great family situation and don't need to worry about anything too serious besides getting my last month of online college classes done. I know not everyone has the luxury of being relaxed and my heart goes out to those struggling in difficult financial or familial situations.


After experiencing quarantine for as much time as I have, I wanted to make a list of 8 activities you can do to keep yourself busy (from personal experience!)


1. Exercise baby

One aspect of being stuck in the house means no gym. If you are an avid gym-goer, this probably breaks your heart, I know. However, this doesn't mean that you can't get some workouts in at home. I reccomend using YouTube to search for workout routines using dumbbells and simple cardio exercises. Maybe you can even recruit family members (who live with you) to join for fun.


If you don't exercise regularly, this is the perfect time to try something new. Whether it's yoga, meditation, cardio (running/walking outside), get it MOVING! Bring the kids or other family members and enjoy the free time. Throw ball with your dog or take him/her for a walk around the block. Quarantine doesn't have to be prison. It's really important to keep your body active and not sit on the couch the entire day. Who knows, you could adopt some healthy and fun new activities into your routine after this whole thing is over!


2. Introduce new habits

Are you really bad about eating when you're bored or picking/biting your nails? Those are examples of bad habits that could be worked on during this time. For me, I am trying to stop my habit of slouching.


Since my life isn't crazy busy, I feel as if I have the mental ability to be more hyperaware about how I carry myself. I am taking the extra time to research how to help my slouching. It's easier said than done, but worth it.


3. Zoom with friends or loved ones

One way I am staying connected is using the application called Zoom to talk to friends. It was a nice way to be social while socially distant. Zoom is super easy to use and set-up! My mom even had a happy hour with her girl friends via Zoom.


To use Zoom, go here: https://zoom.us/ and sign up for free!


4. Clean out your closet

The first thing my family and I did was get rid of junk! We had always wanted to deep clean closets, garages, cabinets and being ordered to stay home forced us to have the time. Not only do you physically feel better with more space and less junk, but you mentally feel refreshed too.


Another great thing to do would be to bag up any clothing or accessories to be donated. As a thrifting fanatic, I encourage you to donate! Though most places are not accepting donations right now, please hold on to your items for a future time. Families who are struggling, specifically right now, would probably benefit from your donations when house sanctions are lifted.


5. Learn something new

I know a lot of people right now are trying whipped coffee (I haven't since I don't own any instant coffee), but things like this are a fun thing to try. I tried protein muffins for the first time and loved it. With nothing else to do, be spontaneous in food choices and try to make something you've never had before.

Some Ideas:

- whipped coffee

- follow a youtube painting tutorial

- try dying your hair a fun color

- DIY an old pair of jeans

- start journaling

- try meditation

- paint on an old pair of shoes

- buy a new board game and play with household members


6. Start a new tv show (or rewatch your favorite!)

Have you watched Tiger King? If not, please do. TV Shows are a great investment to start during quarantine since there are numerous episodes and you can't really finish it in two hours. If nothing new interests you, rewatch an old favorite. That's what I did with my sister and I personally am gonna start Vampire Diaries from the beginning just for fun.

Shows I reccomend:

- The Office (comedy)

- The Vampire Diaries (teen/drama)

- Parks and Rec (comedy)

- Tiger King (documentary)

- Demon Slayer (anime)

- Naruto (anime)

- The Greenhouse Academy (teen)

- Schitt's Creek (comedy)

- Ozark (drama)

- Dead to Me (comedy/drama)


7. Make a TikTok

Probably an app more popular than Instagram at the moment. Remember Vine? that's this, but modernized with some dancing. Tiktok is a fun platform and allows you to be creative with short 15-60 second clips. There are challenges and trending ideas all the time - it's never boring. Download it - even if it's just for the memes! Don't forget to follow me: @dunkitlikeabby

8. Virtually thrift

If you can't go shopping, but you have the financial means to spend a little, virutally thrift! There are some apps/websites that you can get second-hand items such as ThredUP (website), Depop (app), Poshmark (app), and more. If we are stuck inside for another 30 days, might as well treat yourself a tiny bit :)


I hope this little list inspired you to do something, even if it was only one thing! Just know we are ALL in this together, like literally. I also wish you and your loved ones good health. Stay 6 ft apart with strangers and see you on my next blog post y'all.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page