top of page

Accessorizing 101

Hey guys - this blog post is WAY overdue, but I promise this is just the start of an amazing summer together.


A little while ago, you guys voted on my Instagram story for me to discuss a few tips on how I accessorize my daily outfits. I am going to break down by items I use when thinking about pulling an outfit together in no particular order:


Earrings/Necklaces

When it comes to accessorizing, you can dress up any outfit with a long pair of earrings and typically go for this style when I am wearing a really plain outfit:

As you can see in the pictures I have above, the outfits I am wearing have very minimal design with just a solid color. Adding earrings like these can help add a pop of color or accent the outfit you are wearing. I try to add an earrings that picks up a small detail of the design, if there is any, to complete the color scheme. This step is very minimal, but can have a huge impact on your look!


I realize that not everyone has their ears pierced, so another way to help accent would be to use necklaces!

I tend to go for either long necklaces or choker necklaces to make a statement. The same concept goes for necklaces: use them to spice up plain outfits. The fit of the necklace will depend on the cut and style of the shirt, but will work wonders in a small way.


Bracelets and rings are antoher way of complimenting an outfit when accessorizing. These little touches are very minor, but too much can drag an outfit down. Go for minimal, yet stylish pieces that you enjoy.

Purses/Bags

I have three purses and a bag from American Eagle I rotate through when it comes to outfits and I only go this route of accessorizing if I am going out somewhere like shopping or to the city. A cute purse is not only handy, but can be stylish and a completing look to an outfit.

Again, the purse needs to match the aesthetic of the outfit you have planned out in order to get that "wow" effect. If you are going on a serious outing, the size and demand of the purse should always be more important than the aesthetically pleasing look of it. Just a thought. However, for fun little trips to the cafe that simply require your wallet, phone, and maybe a book, a cute little purse can easily tie together an outfit like the ones I have above.

Hats

It's no suprise that wearing hats to complete an outfit is my go-to. For me, hats are super comfortable and chic. I just started doing this in the fall of 2018 and I want to purchase more styles for different occasions.

I was not always comfortable wearing a hat with outfits though, it did take some courage to go out in public wearing new hats. Hats are a cute way to be bold with outfits, not so much to complete an outfit, but to make a statement. For example, the outfits I am wearing above are rather complete with the jean jacket and jewelry, but the hats make the look more bold.


Sunglasses

My all-time favorite way to accessorize in the summer time. I have over 5 different sunglasses I will grab on the way out of my house to throw on top of my head. It is such a simple way to add a little touch to your outfit. If it is too sunny out, bang, you got sunglasses. I also love having sunglasses to keep the hair out of my face when walking around.

Just remember, no one is an actual expert on accessorizing, unless you get paid to legit style people for a living. Just have fun mix-matching different items together!


I hope this helped you in a small way :)


Until Monday,

Abby

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page