top of page

Chat Over Coffee: Feeling Down

Hey y'all, how is your Monday morning going? I am SO looking forward to my homemade morning coffee. When I make it at home, I use Columbian K-Cups and a spalsh of french vanilla or chocolate mocha creamer. I am running low on vanilla creamer though ...*sad face* Lord knows I need this coffee today!


Today's topic for "Chat Over Coffee with Abby" I wanted to discuss when it feels like to feel down about little things.



Over the past two weeks, I have had things add up to the point where I feel so stressed out and feel a little down in the dumps. Without going too much into details, I have had to quit an internship that I was super excited about, not perform to the best of my abilities in tennis, struggle with my grade in particular classes, and deal with mudane/irritating things.


Though these events are small in the grand scheme of life, it is important that I recgonize how they make me feel and validate these emotions. It is ok to feel down or upset. It is ok to take time to stop what you are doing, to breathe, and accept the fact that things are not ok.


When it comes to feeling down, take the time to do healthy things to cope. For me, I needed to relax and do things that made me happy, like watch my favorite youtubers or grab a coffee from Dunkin' before class. Even just taking time out of the day to vent to someone close to me really helped me channel my negative emotions.


Just as much as the little things added up to stress me out, the little things that made me happy diminshed these affects.


There is maturity in recognizing your emotions. Taking the initiative to accept your tides of feeling and shift them into healthy coping mechanisms is so, so important for your mental health. Bottling up how you feel and saving it for a rainy day won't get you anywhere.


As someone who likes to see themselves as a happy-go-lucky and goofy individual, I hate getting into these "funks". However, I understand that sometimes these events happen in our life to better ourselves and to push us to be more mature in recognizing our feelings.


So, before your coffee gets cold, I just want to remind you that it is ok to validate your feelings and take the time you need to heal (whether it is big or small demand) on this cloudy Monday morning.


You are worthy. Your feelings are valid.


It's ok to stop and feel.


Until Friday,

Abigail



54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page