top of page

Get to Know Me

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog - get your afternoon coffee ready.





Let's get to the point. Here are some questions friends, family, and acquaintances have asked me over the past 24 hours:


1. What career do you with to pursue after college?

As a communications major with three years of experience as a journalist, I think I have decided to try to find a career in the world of Public Relations (PR). PR involves communication, marketing, social media, and so much more to help keep a business or individual's reputation positive to the world.


I think PR would be perfect for me because it will allow me to combine my love for communications and social media on a daily basis. I am also minoring in Psychology as a cushion; I have always been torn between becoming a professional in the communications field or a Psychologist.


2. Why do you like Dunkin' so much?

First off, one sip from Dunkin' is like a folded little envelope from Heaven arriving at your doorstep.


Secondly, Dunkin' actually has a very special place in my heart for family reasons. Fun fact: when my mom started dating my now step-dad, I actually had a really hard time accepting him into my life and heart.


In my freshman year of high school at my new home, my bus step was three streets away. So, out of convenience, my step-dad would drive me into school. With that routine, we started going to Dunkin' every morning before he dropped me off.


Now it's just kinda our thing - Love ya Scott!


3. Which Hogwarts house is the best?


My college friends and I have been arguing over this matter for the past two weeks - we even changed our group chat's name to "Harry Potter Fight Club" - so passionate.


I have always felt as if my heart belonged to Hufflepuff and after taking the official Pottermore test, I can confirm that Hufflepuff's are the BEST, hands down.


Hufflepuff's are kind, loyal, and patient individuals who just want everyone to be treated fairly.


Thank you, next.



4. What made you choose your college? Are you happy with your choice?

I applied to almost ten different colleges in Pennsylvania and I ended up choosing Penn State Harrisburg - this wasn't an easy choice for me at first.


What helped me eliminate colleges from my list of acceptances was visiting the campuses in person. I was unable to attend all ten colleges when I applied due to my parent's busy work schedules and simply bad timing. Visiting the campuses helped me realize that I did not like older campuses with long walks in-between buildings, as well as, not wanting a long commute back to home for breaks.


I was able to narrow my choices down to a top 3: Bloomsburg University, Millserville University, and Penn State Harrisburg.


My boyfriend at the time was at Penn State Hazleton and was planning on transferring to University Park for his sophomore year - so at the time, he was not coming to Harrisburg and did not have an influence on my decision. My older brother played ice hockey at Penn State Berks, so I have always been interested in Penn State.


The tennis team at the Penn State Nittany Lion statue after our awards banquet in the Spring of 2018



After visiting Penn State Harrisburg, I fell in love. The campus was cute and small enough that I didn't have to walk 15+ minutes to get to my next class. The freshman dorms were apartment-like styles, so I had my own laundry unit, bedroom, and shared a bathroom with one other person. My commute back home isn't bad either - around an hour and 40 minutes.


Am I happy about my decision to come here? I couldn't imagine not coming here. I ended up playing DIII tennis here - something I never really planned on. I have met the best of friends at this school and my boyfriend ended up coming here after an issue with financial aid. Penn State Harrisburg has been a great school to attend for my undergrad years.


5. Where/who do you get your fashion inspo from?


Honestly, I get all my fashion inspiration from other like-minded bloggers on Instagram. Being apart of College Fashionista has really opened my eyes to the world of fashion.


I'd like to say my style is comfy-boho and I love to look at what similar outfits others are creating on Instagram. With being a sales associate at American Eagle Outfitters, I like to take a lot of style from this company since I receive a stellar employee discount.


6. Do you think about the Butterfly Effect a lot?

To be honest, I've heard about this before, but I needed to look it up after I received this question.


So on the note, no I do not think about it often - but after researching this topic a little more, I think I will. It is a very interesting concept and the idea that something rather insignificant have a ripple effect is existentially fascinating.


If you want to understand this topic more, this website helped me: https://www.americanscientist.org/article/understanding-the-butterfly-effect


7. What's your favorite color?

This one has been a constant in my life - my favorite color would have to be a lilac or lavender purple.


8. Where do you see yourself living when you're older?

I have literally no idea. The idea of living somewhere other than Pennsylvania excites me, but still no idea.


Arizona or Colorado would be gorgeous, but would be too far from family for me.


After I graduate with my Bachelor's degree, I think I will spend a few years in Philadelphia. Might even get my Master's in the city!


If you have made it this far, you deserve a cookie along with you afternoon coffee.


Thank you for taking the time to read this post - I had so much fun writing this piece. Be on the look out for new content soon.


With all my love,

Abby


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page