top of page

How I Edit My Instagram Photos

Hey guys - today is the day I spill the beans on how I edit my Instagram photos. Are you ready for it?


I decided to choose this photo from my Instagram feed to use as an example of how I edit:



The app I mainly use to create my posts is called Bazaart and it looks like this in the app store:


*This post is NOT sponsored by Bazaart*

Bazaart is a free app but has limited features unless you purchase their premium plan. The tools I use are basic enough that I can get by without purchasing the full app abilities.


The other app I use when editing my photos is Pinterest, you've probably heard of this one!


When I have picture to edit, there is normally a type of ~vibe~ I feel or try to elate from the picture to my audience.


With the picture I chose as an example, I wanted to portray a late 90's/2000's vibe as I rocked my corduroy-on-corduroy outfit with a splash of Dragon Ball Z on my graphic-tee.


So, with the picture I want to edit and the ~vibe~ I want, this is where I start my process:


1. I open Pinterest and search for "VSCO quotes", "Inspirational quotes", "pretty quotes", etc. In this case, I searched for "VSCO quotes" to get the bubbly-outlined font I tend to like.
2. Once I found a quote I like, I save the photo my phone for later use.
3. If I want little cute symbols or waves as a final touch in the background, I will search on Pinterest for "picture designs", "phone backgrounds", "VSCO backgrounds", or particular artists that I enjoy/know through Instagram. In this case, I love an Australian artist's work named Martina Martian, so I searched for her and found the exact 90's/2000's ~vibe~ I was looking for and saved the photo.
4. Once I've found all the stuff I would like to add to my photo, that is when I go to Bazaart, open a "new project", and select the orignal photo I want to edit.
5. Then I will upload the quote photo by selecting the big plus sign button at the bottom right.
6. After uploading the quote photo, I will select the quote photo and look at the bottom of the app bar that looks like this and choose the "Cut Out" button.
7. Once you hit the "Cut Out" button, another sub-bar will appear and you will want to select the scissor tool.
8. With the scissor tool selected, that is when you circle the quote you like to be removed from the background and hit "auto" Note: this tool can be tricky and you might need to mess around with it to get it cleaned up.
9. I repeat this same process wtih the decorations/symbols I want to add to the photo.
10. The final step is to rearrange all the layers to my desired finish product - which is up to your individual style.

Those 10 steps pretty much sums up my entire process of how I edit photos lately! In the beginning, I used Snapchat as my main editing source, but I highly prefer Bazaart now.


I hope you enjoyed this post - I will be posting later today about a giveaway to my subsricbers that involes coffee - so don't forget to subscribe below!


If you missed Monday's "Chat Over Coffee With Abby", here is the link: https://abigailcliff12.wixsite.com/website/blog/chat-over-coffee-spring-break


Watch out for my giveaway post later today and an Instagram poll to decide next Friday's blog post :)


Until next time,

Abigail


91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page